The well-being of society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

The well-being of the society is concerned by every people in the country. However, whether the more people question authority will lead to the greater benefit of the whole country is still a thorny topic. Some people believe that government can make decisions by their own without take public’s advices into account, while opponents believe that citizens can enhance the country to a better position by questioning authority frequently. Personally, I agree with the second idea that doubting authority do help for the society.

First of all, holding a skeptical attitude toward governments’ decisions can help revealing problems they ignored or undetected. Government officers are a small percent of people and they may not discover all the potential problems inside the country. Therefore, public may have great chance to propose problems that related to their own life but may not noticed by the official. For example, residents may much easier found environmental pollution nearby before it spreads widely. Thus local people always have a clearer sense about the problems raised from some particular area. Therefore, most of time, citizens are just like sensation receptors, which play a key role in detecting problems for the government.

Besides, government tends to see some problems bias. So the public has the right to supervise every decision they made. Government is formed by several particular groups, which are also influenced by the willing of some special castes. Sometimes, they tend to overlook the benefit of the majority but represent the well-being of some powerful people. In that case, if people can question authority frequently, this kind of unjust can be avoided effectively. For example, government wants to sell the land to whom can offer higher price; however, those profitable industries may cause potential environmental problems for the neighborhood. If citizens are eager to doubt about choices government made, these errors can be prevented.

Some people may argue that ordinary people may not have a profound sense about the politic problems and their suggestions could be invalid for the further advantages of the country. This can be true. However, the action that people question the government does not imply the authority should yield to every piece of idea the public gave; instead, they can judge their advices and choose those fit the society’s condition best. Through this way, government can receive different thoughts and help widen their eyesight and provide a diversified way of thinking.

To sum up, the well-being of the country can be raised by question government frequently because it do help authority see problems they ignored and provide a different way of thinking. In this way, government can make more fair decisions and meet the demand of as many people as possible.