A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education system of any nation is always surrounded by a plethora of controversies and debates. Among them, an interesting one which states that a common national curriculum should be required by a nation for its students before they enter college is truly contentious. But I strongly believe in support of the above statement and below are the reasons for my position.

The curriculum of any education system comprises of the fundamental subjects. It is of utmost importance to get the basics of these subjects right in order to progress on the path of education. Students should have a basic knowledge of everything and not just one particular field of their choice as having knowledge in any of the subjects may prove very essential anytime down the road. Also, if students are given a custom curriculum based on the field of their choice, and later if they find they were simply not made for this path, it will truly be an enormous waste of time and efforts to learn the subjects of that particular field.

Also, during the period of school, the students may not have an intuitive understanding or the level of brain development required to pursue the deep specializations that many fields have. This dictates the importance of first learning the basics taught in the common curriculum and then going ahead for various specializations. Having the basic understanding of a variety of subjects develops a crucial learning intuition which is required at any point in the future. Also, it encourages the ability to learn multiple concepts having varied and contrasting content which strengthens the neural connections in the brain and improves the knowledge grasping capacity.

One major factor which goes in favour of having the same curriculum for students till college is time. Any and every individual needs time to decide what path he or she will take up in the future. Schools exactly provide that and act as a buffer for confirming the field of study for the future. Student may come across a variety of different subjects during this time which would surely help them to make accurate decision regarding the field of their choice.

There might me some who may question that if a student has already decided which field to pursue the higher studies in, then why to waste time learning things which are not relevant to that particular field? The reason why this argument is faulty is that the basic education forms the building blocks over which any field is built upon, and to get a wholesome intuition of that field, this type of education is a must.

Thus, to conclude, I support the idea of having a same national curriculum for the students before they enter college as it helps an individual to have the crucial knowledge required to delve into the complexities of higher studies.