The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

How can we enhance the well-being of a society, abiding with authority's idea or question his/her opinion? In my humble view, it is undeniably true that we should repudiate their ideas once their ideas have been proven false. However, this doesn't mean that everyone is qualified to do so and there exists sufficient time buffer to do so. Furthermore, it is also worth to point out that better feedback channels and disinterested evaluation for ideas from authority could better serve to prompt the welfare of the society as a whole.

To start off, if we want to improve overall status of society, we should encourage learned people to raise questions when finding flaws in authority's idea. Undoubtedly, we shouldn't blindly accept authority's ideas or principles once identifying their potential remiss, because such flaws are more likely to impact a mass of people considering the authority's social influence. On the contrary, it is only through challenging their flaws that we are able to sweep away potential risks of social development and find more suitable alternatives. For supporting example, we can no further go for Galileo's challenge to Aristotle's freefall theory. During Galileo's era, Aristotle's freefall theory that the heavier one of two iron ball thrown aloft will attain faster speed and reach the ground firstly, had already been well established, which lead to distorted ideas about gravity in public and further hindered with development of physics. In order to revise such biased theory, Galileo made his endeavor to undertake the famous experiment in leaning tower of Pisa and finally toppled with it.

However, tenable as such issue holds in most case, I have to contend that not every citizen are competent enough to do so and we might not allow to do so for some extremely splitting-second decision making. With regards to the first place, majority of people might raise questions for authorities merely from their own end, as a result of lacking comprehensive viewpoint for the society as whole. In this case, such narrowed-mind repudiation actually induce more chaos rather than wisdom during our decision-making phase. Additionally, when trapped with urgency, it is usually infeasible for us to collect feedback from the demotic, which could inevitably waste precious processing time and let right chance for settling down issue slip away. How Roosevelt’s New Deal Policy prosecute during the Great Depression well exemplifies my viewpoint. When Roosevelt put forward governmental regulation for economy, there existed a spate of challenges from the capitalists, which questioned the rectitude of such seeming heterodox policy. However, majority of such dissents either merely represented business interests or were impractical to put into effect in a short timeframe. Therefore, in order to guarantee public interest and ameliorate economic situation immediately, Roosevelt had no hesitation to drive such strategy into practice, which has been proven as one of most successful economic policy in U.S history.

Furthermore, the real challenge to effectively dispute authority lies on how to establish a better channel for disagreement collecting and put gleaned ideas under an impartial evaluation system. Given complexity of such topic, this is a question that can't be resolved in such a short response. But a brief summary for two key points could help illustrate my brief ideas for ultimate solution. The first one is to establish diverse channels for the purpose of gleaning different ideas, which could facilitate us to drag into limited viewpoint predetermined by existing authorities. Moreover, it is also necessary to establish more empirical methodology and impartial panel to evaluate the author's idea rather than overemphasizing value of ideas out of who raise it. Expanding the aforementioned Galileo's proof for freefall theory. He made resolution to undertake experiment in public for the sake of receiving more diverse feedback from the public, while theorical proof for his repudiation of Aristotle's supposition has also been given in formal disquisition. In this sense, how Galileo prove rectitude's his own theory well exemplifies two critical points mentioned above, which could be leveraged as general guideline when challenging so-called authorities.

In summary, it is necessary for us to question erroneous ideas from so-called authority. However, as discussed before, people with rare relevant knowledges might inversely invoke more chaos in our society rather than enhancement for general welfare of the public. Additionally, confronted with urgent cases which need immediate decision making, we can't even have time to do so. Furthermore, in order to hone general well-being of the public, both effective feedback channel and evaluation methodology for authority's viewpoint should be established in advance.