The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this passage, the author recommends to choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for next HobCo Hobby Shop, because of various facts mentioned above indicating the huge potentials of market. To support his/her claim, the author cites several facts related with market potentials. Quite reasonable though such recommendation appears at first glance, there exists several questions regarding his/her line of reasoning that requires further analysis. Thus, the author's conclusion could end up being pretty compelling or invalid in the end, depending on the answers to the questions.

To start off, the author's reasoning heavily relies on whether such poll accurately reflect real attitudes of people in Grilldon towards opening hobby shop, a question that is not yet answered. It is likely that such poll could be deliberately designed to get better market feedbacks, because researchers in company HobCo, Inc, want to flatter with president's investment idea. Additionally, without additional information to evaluate the responders in this poll, it is of equal probability that 88 percentages of responders have been biased by advertisement for researchers so that they mightn't really participate with buying products of shop in practice. Such phenomenon could seriously challenge the aforementioned conclusion of researchers and render his/her viewpoint much less advisable. On the contrary, any valid proof that poll is designed in a disinterested way and responders really tell their real intention could strengthen his/her stance.

Granted that such research reflects the truth and given the fact that increasing rate of hobby business and interests of retirees, whether the company should adapt with construction of new shop needs a second look. Behind the author's reasoning lie two critical implications. The first one is that such robust increasing trend of hobby business could be kept in the future. The probability that such strong momentum of increasing of business might decline must be considered and addressed. Yet, if the author could unequivocally demonstrate that such increasing could last for the next decade, his/her viewpoint will gain more weights.

Furthermore, the second implication is that retirees' devotion on hobby could guarantee them to buy product or involve with business in new shop of HobCo in Grilldon. While the demographic provide such probability, the likelihood that those retirees have already been attracted by other companies could not be excluded in advance. For example, they might already devote sufficiently money to products or services provided by other companies. Thus, we have no clues whether new opening shop for Grilldon could have tremendous appealing to change their previous inclination. If no, potential for new Hobco shop in Grilldon to win retirees is unlikely, despite the prosperous statistics of retirees. Otherwise, more customer from retirees in Grilldon could be expected for the future business of HoboCo in Grilldon.

Last but not least, while we can acknowledge for a moment that HobCo could gain benefits from all of the aforementioned aspects , it remains to be seen whether the shop could be well managed in local. Other factors, such as management efficacy and investment amount from the HobCo company, could readily compete with the one alleged in the argument. If local shop will run incorrectly, or investment from HobCo is limited, this is doubtful that new opening shop could win favors from local residents and make profit out of it.

In summary, while great potential shows the poll in Grilldon for new opening shop of Grilldon, this is a conclusion that we cannot derive from the information available in the argument. Furthermore, even if such poll result is accurate, the author's suggestion is still built upon implications, which are open to different probabilities. Only after the aforementioned questions are adequately addressed can we effectively evaluate such recommendation and reach a logically sound conclusion.