The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

The history of mankind suggests that human always liked to live in groups to protect himself from savage animals in the stone-age. Even in now-a-days people like to live with their family, society, where they can exchange their thoughts and their day-to-day stress and tensions. For many people to work in harmony, there is an authority in the form of police, political leaders, justice system etc that take care of the problems faced by people in the society and help people to get the justice. Crimes like extortion, drugs cartel, peddling, petty theft, larceny, terrorism, rape are preying on the society. The authority should help people and society to get justice who have been the victim of the crimes. For some cases, the well-being of the society will be enhanced when many of its people question the authority. But for some cases, well-being of the society won’t be enhanced when people question the authority.

There was some tension between India and Pakistan over beheading of an Indian army officer few years ago. The public demanded an act of war as a response and questioned the authority which was trying to keep the peaceful environment among the tensions between the two countries. The people were against this decision of the authority. In the era of nuclear and missiles dominance, an act of war gives green signal to the destruction of country. So, the authority tried to find a solution using a diplomatic way. In this case, if the authority had followed the decision of people, it might not have led to a peaceful solution. In similar cases like the surgical strike happened in Uri in 2016, as authority can’t share confidential information with people, it would be better if the public doesn’t question the authority.

Yet, there are some case where questioning the authority led to enhanced in the well-being of the society. The ‘Nirbhaya’ case of rape and murder in Delhi, in India, in India, was the reflection of some savage and animal minded people of the country. The whole country stood by the victim at that time and questioned the authority, which made the authority to set up a fast track court and eventually the victim got justice.

In 2020, George Floyd was killed by police officers in Minnesota, USA. When the video of his killing was made public and was viral all over the world, whole world stood by him and questioned the authority to give him proper justice. When the society interfered with the malfunctioning happened in the Minnesota, justice was prevailed. So, in this Black civil rights case, the questioning authority helped enhance the well-being and well-functioning of the society.

So, to conclude, in some cases questioning the authority proved to be significant for the well-being of the society and to strip the society of the depravity and to make the world peaceful and a better place. Yet, there are some cases where questioning the authority would not bring positive results in the functioning of mankind, as sometimes people are driven by emotions and not think in practical and feasible ways.