The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Being a social animal, human beings live in groups or societies which helps them in various aspects. Ranging from small societies that constitute people living together and share resources, to a country which includes people from different backgrounds, professions and mentality. An overseeing authority is imperetive to lead or to guide a society, make sure that it does not succumb to internal disputes and to ensure the prosperity and burgeoning of its people. The prompt suggests that for the growth and well-being of a society, it is necessary that many of its members question the authority. In my opinion, I strongly agree to the presented statement because of the following two reasons.

Firstly, there are many instances when a leader's or a governing authority's actions or decisions are mostly driven by their own agendas. It is not unusual for people in power to show venality. If their decisions are more biased towards fulfiling their own agendas, rather than concerning the well-being of the society, it will not be surprsing it such society is headed towards an inevitable doom. For instance, let's consider the example of the Sri Lankan government where the entire country's government is controlled by a family. Moreover, the most influential positions, i.e. the President and the Prime minister are brothers from the same family. They took a series of decisions for self-serving purposes and controlled the whole structure of authorities as per their will, which lead to ultimate economical collapse of the country. Now the most interesting thing to observe is, that the population of the country did not start questioning the government until it was too late. If their leaders were put in check from the beginning and questioned their decisions, this kind of situation could have been prevented. Consider a scenario, if the people questioned this dictatorial hierarcy and demanded a democratic government. What if, the coutrymen raised their voice and questioned the policies, rules imposed on them and other 100 things, wouldn't the country's ultimate collapse would have been avoided?

Further, it also plays a crucial role whether a substantial number of society members are questioning the authorities or just a handful. This is highly relevant because voices of a few are easy to ignore or to be suppressed by those who are in power. On the other hand, it is much difficult for them to avert their attention when a mass is demanding answers for their deeds. Consider the example of Nokia, when android entered the market, almost all the mobile phone manufacturing companies abandoned their platform and adopted android because of its promising future. Nokia on the other hand, decided to stick with windows operating system. Recently, it has come to light that during the advent of android, a handful of employees at Nokia questioned the administration against their decision to not adopt android, but their voices weren't taken seriously. Consequently, the market of Nokia mobiles went downhill tremendously. The above example is a perfect evidence that illustrates why it is necessary for a majority of people to question the authorities.

Of course, some could argue that if people incessantly keep questioning the autorities, wouldn't it make their job more difficult? As they would spend lots of time in just responding to the questions, rather than doing their work. However, if the authorities are indeed doing their job properly, it shouldn't be a tiring task for them to answer the members and hence they wouldn't face much of a trouble from them. A collective good and prosperity comes when those in-charge are questioned and held accountable for their actions and decisions. And the best way to ensure this is by having the society's own members question the authorities.