The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Authority in a society is body that governs the affairs of the society, they are in control of what goes and comes in the society. This authority can also be called the government. The prompt recommends that development occurs when the people in the society are able to ask reasons for specific judgments,verdict and laws given by the 'ruling power'. In my opinion I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that for a society to go forward and remain peaceful, the people should be able to question the authority for this two reasons.

To begin, research has seen to it that the most peaceful type of government is democracy. Democracy is the government of the people for the people and by the people. Democracy system of government gives the people power to question authority. In this system people are not under a dictator. A society where the the authority can be questioned practices democracy. For instance, in the 1960s through the 1990s, Nigeria experienced military system of government. During this period, the country was ruled by Military Head of states, these Head of States were typical dictators. During this period, the people in the country could not question the authorities of the rulers. Any attempt to question their authority leads to death, there was massive blood shed during this period. The dictators misbehaved a lot, looted public funds and got away with it. Nobody could question their authorities. It was seen that during this period Nigeria experienced the highest Mortality and corruption, development was very slow. It is of no doubt that this dictatorship system led to great disarray of their then 'community'. The above example shows how disastrous a society can be if the authorities can not be questioned.

Further, even if we assume that a society can be good without people questioning the authorities, we should agree that freedom is the most beautiful thing ever, freedom births peace. People should have freedom of speech, this includes questioning the ruling body. nothing makes a man happy than when he is allowed to say his mind, at this he can defend himself and also accuse defaulters. for instance, an accountant working in a big firm, she goes to work daily to realize that the the right figures she recorded are been altered by her direct boss, and in the constitution of the firm, an inferior officer is not allowed to question the verdicts of a superior officer, this is very detrimental to the well-being of the organization because the organization will some day crumble. When people are allowed to question or object the verdicts of the authorities, there will be transparency and justice, the organization will move perfectly and bad leaders will easily be fished out. In west Africa the military system is very corrupt because an inferior officer can not question the authorities of the superior officer, the very senior officers loots funds sent to the entire military, this is one of the major cause of the underdevelopment of their military system which leads to increase in terrorism in that region.

Of course, some argue that if many people in a society are allowed to question the authority, there will be disrespect. They also argue that people in this kind of society will not obey rules and order set by the authorities. however, I do not see questioning as disrespect, questions can come politely and it sheds more light on things that are unknown, questioning authority is no excuse to break laws. I see authority questioning as a good way to enhance the well-being of a society.