When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town.

It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Two parks are compared with each other. It is said that Stanley park is not as popular as it was in the past, and Carleton is the park where people are more willing to go. Some reasons have been mentioned for the popularity of Carlton park and also the writer offers that Stanley park needs to follow the positive points of Carlton park to obtain its fame. However, I believe that there are many vague points in the argument. Many questions should be answered for the reinforcement of arguments and assumptions.

It is said that “When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used.” There is one source in the text which is considered for proving this argument. The only source is video cameras installed in the park. According to them, only 50 cars are parked near the park in a day. There are several questions that should be answered. Firstly, whether or not the number of cars is a good criterion for assessment of the popularity of the park. Secondly, do all people visiting the park have a car or are all individuals going to the park eligible to have a car? So, the number of cars shown in the camera is not a suitable option for this check. The most important question is when the park has lost its popularity. Whether the installation of cameras in the park can have any role in this subject, as many people do not like to be watched by cameras and they believe that video surveillance is an invasion of privacy. So, it is possible that one of the reasons that people prefer to choose another park is the existence of video cameras. Also, do cameras cover all surrounding areas near the park? It is possible that people find some places which are not watched by cameras. The statistical figure mentioned in the text is not valid. We cannot exactly understand whether or not Stanley park really has lost its popularity. Also, the observer of the cameras may watch some of the special parts of recorded videos during the times the park was empty. In such times may other parks may also not be crowded.

Carlton park is in the heart of the business district and it is said that it is visited by more than 150 people during a week. The factors used for the comparison of the parks are wrong. For the first park, the number of cars has been considered while for the second one the number of people. Also, the areas of the parks are not comparable. It is clear that the business district is always busy and more people may go there for the purpose of relaxation or entertainment. Also for Stanley park, the statistical figure shown is for one day but the second one is for one week. The writer in the text only wants to show that the popularity of Carlton park is high, and it seems he wants to highlight this subject intentionally The argument of the writer had been more valid if he would have compared the two parks according to the same period and the same factors and conditions. Also, the only difference mentioned between the parks is the number of seats. This type of comparison is not fair, the writer has to consider the positive point and negative points of the parks and then decide which park is better.

Also, how the writer can ensure that the increasing number of benches can increase the popularity of Stanley park? Is this solution really can improve the situation of Stanley park? For converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing in Stanley park, there is no financial source mentioned. Park itself is a place for socializing, so it would be better if people are asked about the facilities that they want to have in the park.

In conclusion, the assumptions and arguments mentioned in the questions are not cogent and for improvement of them, the points and the questions mentioned in the writing should be checked.