Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

It is said that some parents tend to be overly permissive and lenient and provide whatever their children want. I believe that this parenting style is not good and can have some negative long-term consequences for children raised with this way of upbringing.

On the one hand, I can explain why it is wrong for parents to buy their children anything that they ask for, and let them do any activity they like. According to my experience, this type of nurture can spoil children. Also, in this situation, such children find it difficult to obey or follow the rules set by their parents and teachers. After a while, they get used to getting whatever they want, and if the conditions are not according to their desires, they may misbehave and nag. I believe that clear expectations and boundaries are necessary. Parents should be able to say “no” to their children when they have an irrational request. Additionally, adults should show their children that any bad activity has some negative consequences. If parents do the opposite, they cannot expect to have well-behaved and self-control children.

On the other hand, permissive parenting has some negative outcomes. Children who are raised with this parenting style will become selfish and self-centred, as they always think that others must serve them. Such young people learn not to have any attention to the feeling of people. In addition to this, these children not only find it difficult to make friends and communicate with various individuals but also cannot work and cooperate in a team. As a result, they may become isolated and introverted and experience loneliness throughout their lives which can cause them to become depressed and stressed out.

In conclusion, in my view, if parents follow their children ‘s demands more than what is necessary, they do more harm than good, and they cannot have respectful and sociable children.