Which poses the greater threat to society, individualism or conformity?

Living in a world that is advancing and progressing with every passing second can be both exhausting and exciting. The technology advancements has made everyone more self-reliant and independent. While this is a good thing for every person to be able to perform tasks in a much more convenient and efficient way, it also has plenty of its downsides. For instance, this has created a distance between people, with people not fully being there for each other and completely immersed in their own lives. Hence, considering this aspect of life, individualism poses a greater threat as compared to conformity. There are many arguments to support this statement. People tend to distance themselves from the rest of the world and live in their own space, which can, yes, be beneficial if done mildly, but is quite dangerous and self-destructive if that is a person's lifestyle. Furthermore, a team leader who is purely an individualist can never be a true leader because of their inability of knowing how to work as a group collectively and listen to others and make decisions together. Lastly, individualists can be extremely stubborn and self-centered, thereby decreasing their chances of survival in an environment that necessitates cooperation with people.

Individualists tend to distance themselves from the rest of the world and live in their own space. These are the type of people who like to rely only on themselves for everything. Due to that, they might think that they don't need other people in their lives since they can supposedly handle everything on their own. As good it can be for a person to depend on their own selves for all they need, it is certainly not healthy if practiced too frequently. Humans need to be connected to each other for their own wellness. To have people in one's life on which a person can rely in good or bad times is a very comforting feeling that no one should be deprived of. Being detached from the world can be very harmful and self-destructive because it can cause loneliness, which further probably leads to depression and anxiety. Whereas conformity allows people to be there for each other and rely on each other, resulting in a much more healthier environment that can boosts a person's confidence, self-worth, and morale.

Next, a leader who is an individualist can never fully be a true leader because they don't know how to fully connect and communicate with their team. Leaders unequivocally must possess qualities such as ability to relay and discuss information with their team, be able to attentively listen to their ideas and concerns, and be their mentor. Unfortunately, a true individualist does not have such caliber. In contrast, a conformist leader would be more involved with his/her team and be much more communicative and therefore, would be a good mentor.

Lastly, due to individualists being highly self-reliant, this can turn them into exceedingly stubborn people. Because they presume that they don't really need people in their lives, it can make them very self-centered and selfish. They might think that they are above others since they don't need anyone and therefore can make themselves even more distant and rude. To think that you don't need anyone is highly delusional as we are human beings who need human connection in their lives, hence making individualists delusional. Additionally, this also acts as a repulsive force, driving people away, and hence leading to even more loneliness. But in comparison, conformists are down to earth people who make sure that there behavior is good with others. They make sure to have good relationships and put a lot of effort and work in them to make them even stronger and better.

Hence, by considering everything discussed, it can be concluded that individualism is more threatening than conformity. Human connection is very important. It is absolutely crucial for a person to be able to have people in his/her life on which he can rely on and communicate with them through good and bad times. Furthermore, distancing oneself from the world can be very harmful as it can cause loneliness and depression. Lastly, in terms of leadership, a leader need to be more open and accessible, both of those qualities not possessed by an individualist. Hence, it can again be said that pure individualism is more dangerous than conformity, and therefore people should practice a mix of both conformity and individualism to have the best personality.