You will be given a statement that presents an issue you need to respond to, along with detailed instructions on how to respond to the statement. You have 30 minutes to plan and compose a response in which you develop an argument according to the instructions. A response to any other issue will result is a score of zero.

"Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because of both a high comfort level and a fear of the unknown."

Write a response in which you examine your own position on the statement. Explores the extent to which you examine your own position on the statement. Explore the extent to which you either agree or disagree with it and support your reasoning with evidence or examples. Be sure to reflect on ways in which the statement might or might not be true and how this informs your thinking on the subject.

A great society has a set of firm beliefs with a strong will of togetherness. Allowing free thought and individuality to grow from within. This freedom of thought and individuality pushes the boundaries to surpass the limits of comfort into the innovative future. It is those progressive individuals whose ideas push the society forward. From the beginning of mankind using rocks to creating arrows for the hunt. Another example is the great leap into flight around the world. Lastly, modern medicine, the field of always risking a leap of faith to move forward. In order to have a great society there needs to be a step forward into the unknown.

There is an archive that contains the remains of tools used by the ancestors of mankind. Scientist have provided proof that throughout our early nomadic ancestry some small groups died out because the unreliability of the tools used to hunt. Moving forward to other groups that survived, the remains of their tools displayed an intelligent thought process that allows progression to grow. It is because of these early ancestral nomads, whose intelligence allowed manipulation of tools to benefit a hunt, that mankind was able to become a unique creature of original thought.

With a developed mind waiting for the next step forward, history will always remember two brothers who changed the world as we know it. The Wright brothers, two gentlemen who wondered; “what would it be like to fly?” Creating a new form of transportation was a leap because automobiles, trains, and ships were all established forms of transportation that were functional and established. But these two brothers decided to move out of the comfort zone and create a change in the world that was unexpectedly significant. From how wars are fought to the creation of commercial airlines, the modern life of flight as we know is a result of two individuals who took a big step into the unknown.

Stepping into the undiscovered has become a profession for many. A medical scientist, for example, move modern medicine forward by experimenting with multiple variables. The medical field has progressed and changed for the better because of the constant push from scientist to move out of the comfort zone. Progression is the reason a modern society can have branches of healthcare sectors specializing in leading robotics to the next drug regimen for a cure for cancer.

A sedimentary society is a weak society. Researching the unknown can reinvent the tools used for hunting, allow humans to take the sky in flight, and can create a field to cure the next illness. Progression creates a constant push of the bar to improve life, which makes a society become a great one.