Young minds should be encouraged to pursue long-term realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

I agree with the assertion that young minds should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals. Though the idea of having fame and recognition seems very attractive, young people should focus more on working towards a realistic goal instead of running behind these superficial endeavors.

It is very crucial to shape young minds in the right direction from the beginning itself otherwise some may waste half of their lifetimes in pursue of unrealistic goals. Fame, apart from being ephemeral in nature, is very hard to achieve. Some might employ tricks and shortcuts but that type of fame or recognition is short-lived. To be recognized for some kind of a talent among millions of such aspiring individuals is also a challenge in itself. Teenagers are influenced to follow celebrities when they see the amount of fame an actor, a singer, a pop star or a dancer gets but they do not realize that for every celebrity that succeeded in his/her field, there are hundreds of thousands that didn’t.

Whereas if people at a young age are encouraged to pursue realistic goals then they might actually achieve something substantial in life. Long-term goals also ensure stability in the future. At first, these long term goals do not really excite young people because it does not result into immediate results. In order to succeed, one has to work hard towards the goal. But the fact that this hard work pays off in the end, makes it a much better choice than indulging into fame-driven practices.

Looking at the economical aspect, once success is achieved in a long-term goal, it stays as long as a person lives. On the contrary, even if a person achieves fame, one small action can result into defaming of that person and then that person will lose all the fame he/she has acquired. In this line of business, one can easily be rendered obsolete by a better succession and then he/she will have no means to economically support himself/herself.

Moreover, long term goals can also result into benefit of the country along with the benefit of the individual. If all the young people are encouraged to pursue realistic goals then the country will progress as a whole. Keeping realistic goals doesn’t mean that people should not pursue goals which are challenging, different or eccentric but it means that even if people wants to pursue such goals it should not be for the sake of gaining fame.