Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Modern day society tends to view celebrities as demigods and places them on pedestals. It is natural for youth to crave the adulation received by famous personalities and pursue goals leading to the spotlight. However, going after a realistic goal is much more beneficial than temporary fame. I strongly agree with the statement, and will present my view with three points.

Firstly, fame is temporary and it is not a sustainable career path. Many people pursue fame at the cost of their education and conventional careers. This is not prudent as they may not have anything to fall back on once their popularity dies. For every successful actor or model there are thousands who could not make it and had to give up their dreams. This harsh reality is hardly highlighted, making the path to fame appear like a walk through the park. Popular culture is full of one hit wonders who are no longer relevant or given any attention. On the other hand pursuing a career in a field which will always be required by society, such as the sciences or education, will be long term and fruitful. A career in such fields also lends a degree of financial stability that cannot be guaranteed by fame.

Furthermore, in the process of seeking fame people might resort to tactics that they might regret later on. It is very difficult to stand out in an industry saturated with talent, and one might resort to outlandish acts to get attention. Present day social media "influencers" have all their actions recorded on the internet. A single perhaps self-deprecating" prank intended to make them go viral may be the only thing associated with them for the rest of their lives if their popularity fizzles out. The ephemeral nature of fame means that one might eventually have to pursue other jobs. Without prior experience, and their antics available for public viewing future employment may become a difficult task.

Finally, pursuing realistic goals may lead to more satisfaction. Being passionate about a domain in which fame is a part and parcel like music or acting differs from wanting fame itself. Long term, realistic goals allows an individual to dive deeply into a field and make valued contributions to the domain throughout their career. In contrast, seeking fame just for recognition is neither beneficial to them nor society in the long run.

In conclusion, one might say we have only one life and we should utilize it however we want, but there are many other things satisfactory things that can be pursued without having to deal with the negatives of short term recognition. Thus, I believe it is better to pursue long term goals and realistic career paths over 15 minutes of fame.