Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is believed that many countries around the world tend to have the same characteristics as time passes. This is why a vast majority of people are able to buy the same products in all places over the world. This statement is aligned with a significant amount of drawbacks and advantages, contributing to its controversial nature.

The majority of people underline the advantages this topis brings with. First and foremost, it is believed that globalization is a phenomenon, that enhances the international trade. As the planet is perceived as a worldwide village, where borders are not conceived as boundaries, it is common sense people in India to consume olives from Greece and Africans to drink coca cola. Furthermore, taken as granted that products (food, clothes, music) from a specific country reveal cultural traits, this is one way people can be aware of other cultures in the world. For example Greek traditional music reveals the customs of people in the ancient greek time. This has merit, as people not only learn about Greek culture nowadays, but also for the habits of greeks in the past.

However, there is a considerable proportion of people who think that the drawbacks overweigh the advantages. To be more specific, the supporters of this option, are constantly warning about the raised possibility for countries’ identity to disappear. As a hefty amount of young people underestimate the historical background of their country, the influx of products of other countries may deteriorate the characteristics of their culture. For example, hip-hop music, widely known among Greeks, cannot be encapsulated to Greek culture, as the traits of hip hop music interfere with the Greek traditional music character.

To conclude, I personally support the opinion, according to which the international trade should be continued, even though countries tend to be more similar over time. With the appropriate education at a young age, people would be able to acknowledge their country’s background and history and combine that with other countries’ cultural segments.