It is widely believed that children of different levels of intelligence should be taught together, while others think that more intelligent children should be taught separately.

Discuss and present your own opinion.

Those who advocate teaching schoolchildren together believe mixed classrooms can help students improve their level of learning and confidence through creating a healthy and constructive competition among students. Children by nature tend to show off their skills and abilities in front of opposite sex so that they accelerate their effort in and out of classroom not only not to fall behind their peers but also to increase their grade. Therefore, they work as hard as possible to keep up with the intelligent classmates. Additionally, separating teenagers based on level of their intelligence and talent may discourage unprepared students from study as they may feel they have been left out and are not as smart as others. As such, it might lead to increase the number of students who is willing to drop out of schools.

On the other hand, others criticize above argument and believe that the mixed classroom may waste intelligent students’ time because teachers have to consider all students with different talent when giving lessons. While the intelligent may find the lessons very easy to pick up, others might face many problems to understand the topics. Moreover, monitoring weaknesses and strengths of the students become very hindrance for teachers because comparing a privileged pupil with an unprepared on is more like comparing apple to orange. Instead, if separation of privileged and ordinary students is applied, not only both groups can receive a proper teaching facilities but teacher can also provide better supervision over their progress .