Many people think that public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their money on expensive hi-tech media, such as software, DVDs or videos. Do you agree or disagree?

Library is considered as temple of knowledge and it comprises of numerous books and journals from which one can replete his/her hunger of knowledge. Nowadays,technology plays a pivotal role in the library but in relation to this some assert that public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their money on expensive hi-tech media, such as software, DVDs or videos. In my perception,the technology within the premises are very important.

To begin with,over the years,the dynamics of the libraries has been changed drastically and becomes part and parcel of an individual life.One can fetch enormous information from one place.Libraries consist of abundant books,journals,newspapers of different kinds and in addition to this an ample sitting area to sit and read or study comfortably. In current scenario,the central libraries become hub for students for studying. In the past,only limited number of members were allowed to use the facilities of the libraries but today anyone can use the facilities.Moreover,the involvement of the technology is a added charm.Internet change the definition of learning methods and are essential for quick learning. There are many expensive Hi-Tech media available in the libraries for an illustration,the provision of personal computers with internet facility,so that one can solve his/her query by just clicking few keywords. Secondly,the availability of portable media such as CDs and DVDs,these system helps when any point of time there is a shortage of books and demand is very high. One could borrow the DVDs or CDs for a particular interval of time

Moving further,technology attributed to number of factors for an example.Firstly,fast learning methods through the soft copies. Secondly, availability of substantial data, Thirdly,the help through internet connectivity and lastly, personal study cells provided with air conditioned facilities. These parameters have changed the definition of library rampantly. However the today's youth rub shoulders with the fast moving world and development of technology is one of them. One can not shun the fact that if one has to be updated, the technology plays a vital role. The libraries in the past were fail to attract the youth's because of old methods but with the passage of time situation changes. The construction and establishment of new technological friendly libraries attracts not even the youths but also the elderly people. It can be seen that government is putting their effort by spending lots of money in the development of libraries and taking initiatives in the welfare of native universities, by granting immense amount for the construction of libraries within the premises of the campus. These steps helping the young developing minds a lot and the expenditure anyhow does not seems wasted.

To recapitulate,I would like to say that government must spend on the welfare of the libraries, so that the country's youths could fetch maximum from the temple of learning and leads the country towards better tomorrow.