More and more people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. Some people believe that governments should impose a higher tax on fast food. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Health problems has been a headache in the contemporary society. It is argued that governments should impose higher tax on junk food. In my perspective, I tend to agree with this statement for some reasons.

Admittedly, governments should not impose a higher tax on fast food. To begin with, fast food can reduce the poor families financial burden. Low income families, in most cases, can only afford to eat fast food because the cost of healthy food in big cities is higher. If governments impose tax on hamburgers, poor families might suffer and not be able to sustain their lives.

However, there are opposing voices saying that governments should levy higher tax on fast food. One of the reasons is that this can reduce the risk of developing diseases of the citizens. As living in fast paced lifestyle in metropolis, employees and workers tend to consume fast food as a regular part of their lives which is not healthy. Therefore, imposing a higher tax on fast food, employees and workers are more likely to prepare their own meals at home instead of eating fried chicken from a restaurant.

Apart from this, the government can receive more income taxes. Fast food has gain its popularity around the world, it means that nowadays fast food in the modern society is indispensable for people in their lives. Moreover, junk food is massively produced by manufactures with automatic production lines. If the government applies this policy, it will significant increase the income tax.

In conclusion, although fast food can decrease the financial burden of the poor, I still think that governments should impose a higher tax on fast food in order to reduce the health issues of the public.