Recycling is now essential measure: it is time for everyone in society to become more responsible towards the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

The Earth is our home and we should treat it responsibly. For hundreds of years humans have been exploiting natural resources and mindlessly disposing of litter without paying any attention to the fact that we have to be conscious about the traces we leave behind after ourselves. It is high time for everyone to understand that our descendants will get only what we will leave them.

Although environmental organizations all over the world in collaboration with national governments, take firm measures in the sphere of environmental protection, development of thoughtful sustainable habits is a matter of each individual. While it is generally believed that recycling is a duty of authorities, it should be noted that building an efficient recycling infrastructure, introducing some additional benefits, like tax reduction etc. is only a tip of the iceberg. Unless every citizen will not treat it as a personal responsibility and make recycling his second nature, all those measures will not provide a desirable effect.

In my opinion, proper environmental education, starting from kindergartens, should be introduced. Thus, starting from the very childhood people will adopt sustainable lifestyle and maintain eco-friendly behavior through their lives.

At the same time it is important to take into account the fact that recycling is only a small part of the steps humankind should take in order to stop deterioration of our nature. A complex approach has to be taken, starting from every one of us as individuals and finishing with global international organizations.

The number of waste reportedly produced each year is dramatically high, while household debris make up only a small share of it. Thus, one cannot insist that starting recycling and thoughtfully using natural resources by individuals will make much of the difference, but if our efforts will be joined by big industries, scientific institutions and state authorities we might be able to leave a safe and clean home for our descendants, after all.