In some countries children have very strict rules of behavior, in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they like. To what extent should children have to follow rules?

Grooming of children differs from country to country. While some societies prefer pedagogue style of upbringing others believe in freedom of expression. These techniques are passed on from generations and form an integral part of the culture of a country. Each of these styles of nurture has their own pros and cons.

Children are impressionable and they quickly adopt and mold as they are taught. Some believe that if children are disciplined at tender age they subconsciously adopt the same qualities even in later stages of life. Rules and restrictions can make a child focused and imbibe him with competitive qualities. In China players are trained from a very young age, as young as 4. Consequently, these players grow up under strict pedagogue style of coaching and later win medals for the country in various world games.

On the other hand, there are cons to such stern laws. A child may not be able to express his opinion and eventually would lose his freedom of thought and right to live his life. Also he might lose his independence which may result into frustration and depression. Such authoritarian upbringing might prove detrimental to his innocence.

Though each of these styles has been proved both effective and ridiculous, there is no comprehensive solution. I believe that a blend of both techniques would prove beneficial in the fostering of a child. A right mixture of love, discipline, freedom and cautious rules is the secret recipe of a healthy and permissible environment in raising a child.