Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There has been a strong debate on the issue whether parents should teach children how to be good members of society or children should learn this from school. Here, both sides of the argument will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

One of the main reasons why people argue that parents should teach children to become good members is that children spend significant time in the home. Moreover, they are more emotionally attached to the parents than to the teacher and therefore highly influenced by parents. Another reason to put forth the argument is that it is the responsibility of parents to take care of the children in the moral issue as school has other responsibility to bear such as imparting formal education.

On the other hand, there are some people who believe that school is the place where children learn how to be good members of society and the main reason of the argument is that teachers are more persuasive in nature. It is often seen that children are pampered by the parents and don't follow them and in such case it is the school where they learn the good manner. Moreover, the punishment they get in school, if they don't show the good behavior, make them embarrassed among the friends and thus to avoid this, they start to become good members of the society.

In conclusion, teachers and parents both have certain roles to impart moral education to their children, however, in many cases it is the school where they learn the good manner more effectively.