Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Universities are the places where people get education and then play their roles in society. Many people think that universities should offer only those degrees which are demanded by the employers.while others think that they should provide education in every field of study. I believe that universities should provide education to people irrespective of their demand in workplaces. The main causes are discussed in the following paragraphs.

Firstly,the main purpose of the universities is to provide education to general public not to serve the employers. This is due the fact that education play an important role in developing the societies. For example, educated people have broad vision and abilities to make better decisions which lead to a good social,cultural, political and even working life.

Secondly, educating people only in specefic areas will limit research and development in few areas leaving the other fields of education unexplored. For example, more researchs will be carried out in area like business and commerce,making them more advanced as compared to subjects such as theology and history.

Thirdly, research and development in a few areas will not cause the development of a country. The development is linked with the advancement of every field of studies. For instant, a glance at the universities of the developed countries would indicate that the universities of these countries have provided education in every as aspect irrespective of their demand at work places.

To conclude,the universities play crucial role in the development of a country and they should not provide education in only specefic areas, rather education in every field of studies should be provided if they aim at the development of their countries.I ,therefore, believe that universities should provide education in all fields of life.