Some people like to travel with a companion. Other people prefer to travel alone. Which one do you prefer?

The idea of travelling is changing over period. The reason for the travel was used to be for the celebration in the previous generation, which changed in recent centuries with different purposes; celebration, entertainment, self-development and business. The ideas of travelling have changed over time; the travelling with a companion has becoming a choice. There are positive aspects of travelling alone and a negative aspect of travelling alone and vice versa for the travelling with a companion.

Travelling alone brings lots of advantageous aspects including comfortable, convenient and cheaper in prices whereas loneliness, dangerous and clueless in emergency situations could not be dealt alone. When people travel by themselves, they could develop self-esteem and learn to be independent. Not forgetting to mention that, people could gain personal practical experiences from the journey. For example, all the travel schedules from the time of the flight to a hotel are managed independently, which could lead to development of decision making skills. In contrast, in the case of emergencies such as getting sick or getting injured, there is no one around him or her to help out. Within the time of emotionally weak; sick, tired and happiness, person might feel lonely. In addition to this, there will be a higher risk of being a target from criminals. If a young female travels by herself, there will be a higher risk of getting raped or robbed by criminals. Even though, there will be a risk of criminals’ attack, if the travellers all aware of the situation and should careful for every steps then it should be a safe journey.

On the other hand, there are both benefits and drawbacks of travelling with a companion. All the drawbacks for the travelling with a companion would be the advantages for the travelling alone side. Other side is vice versa. Thus, by travelling with peers would never feel lonely and there will be other people in the case of emergencies or dangerous situations. However, all the decisions need to considerate for other’s opinion and it could be bothersome. For example, if you want to stay in a cheaper place for few nights to save up for other activities to do, but if your friends might think exactly the opposite way and then there is some discussion required.

After weighing both sides of the question, I gave my vote emphatically for the former choices. An important pro, which I had not thought of before was freedom of all the decisions during the travels.