Surveys show that many people believe most jobs in the future will be done at home. Do you agree or disagree?

Over the past decades, there has been a significant increase in communication technology (IT), affecting people’s lifestyle. In fact, many people think that in the future, there will be no need of work places; instead people will do their jobs from home, according with recent surveys. It can be argued that further developments in IT will change the standard way jobs are located.

However, there are some employments which are very difficult to be replaced by a computer. For instance, maintenance services, which are in charge of correct any problem machines could have, usually need to be done in situ. Other services, such as cleaning, supervision or installations, require physical presence to do the job in the company location. As this shows, there are still some employments that need to be executed by a human being.

On the other hand, administrative jobs can be arranged to be performed out of the office. Payslips, accounting or even operational work can be externally completed by using a computer with an internet connection, for most of the work is done electronically. Thus, the information is sent wherever is needed without the require presence of the employee. It is obvious then that these types of jobs are expected to be change from the companies to a more comfortable place such as home.

In conclusion, it is certainly imminent that with the new advances in the electronic communication field, many jobs will be transferred from the office to home, where employees can enjoy a better place to work sharing with their family at the very same time.