Topic: Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others however, believe that school is the place to learn this

The issue of who is responsible for teaching children to be good members in a society has been received controversial opinions. Some people argue that it is parents’ responsibility while the others consider it as the school’s duty. In my view, educating children about this aspect is the responsibility of both school and parents.

Education provided by school not only aims at deploying children the academic knowledge but also teach them other moral values and behaviours to help them become good people. When a child reaches the school age, most of his/her time is spent at school where he/she starts learning new knowledge and interacting with new people. A class can be considered as a small society and thus is a good place for teachers guiding students how to behave correctly to fit in that small society, helping or cooperating with other friends are examples of many important lessons that children can learn from school.

However, school alone cannot help children become good people. At school, there are so many students that teachers cannot monitor and correct children behaviours all the time Also, parents are the one who understand their own children most. Therefore, they know the most effective way to teach their children. In addition, children usually follow their parents’ behaviours and consider them as models. Consequently, parents should act appropriately to guide their children.

In conclusion, teaching children moral values is important as teaching academic knowledge. However, this should not be taken as the one school’s responsibility, but also need cooperation from the parents.