01.08.2015: The world natural resorces are being consumed at an ever-increased rate. What are the dangers of this situation? What should we do?

Overconsumption of natural resources is one of the most concerning issues in recent years. This trend poses various threats to both our society and the environment and must be addressed with a number of definite actions to deal with.

The increasingly high level of exploitation of natural resources can be hazardous in many ways. The first issues consequence relates to the environment such as greenhouse gases, the rise of sea level, and the quality of soil and air. For instance, the excessive burning of fossil fuels releases a large amount of poisonous emissions and fine dust that make the Earth hotter and the degradation of air. Moreover, the lack of available natural resources is because the resources come to the verge of depletion, and people face scarcity and the rise of prices. As a result, they cannot pay for basic needs such as transport and food.

There are several actions that both individuals and government could take to solve the problem described above. The first measure is government should invest in renewable resources and encourage inhabitants to use them due to being eco-friendly and boundless. For example, using alternative resources like solar panels so that people can be self-sufficient and reduce using fossil fuels. In addition, the most practical measure is to lower the energy demand. This can be done by mass-producing energy-efficient household appliances and using public transportation instead of private vehicles.

To sum up, the levels of consuming natural sources reach an alarming rate, humans should take steps to mitigate these consequences.