04.08.2016: In many countries, people now wear Western clothes (suits, jeans) rather than traditional clothing. Why? Is this a positive or negative development?

Cultural integration is becoming extremely popular nowadays, a lot of individuals prefer to wear the latest- fashion dresses instead of conventional clothes. Although this tendency is beneficial for the host nations, I firmly believe that the diverse culture is concerned.

To begin with, there are myriads of reasons why people like having trendy western apparel. Firstly, people can get more scope of movement when wearing modern fashion. While classic attires are quite heavy and inconvenient to wear at the office, Western outfits are more conventional and flawless to carry for a whole day. For instance, many companies set their dress code that makes employees feel more comfortable. Moreover, in the technology era, citizens are easily impacted by social media like Facebook, Instagram, and also celebrities who always fashion be on trend during the globalization era.

I consider that this trend has largely negative consequences. The first reason relates to the overshadowing the traditional beauty not only in clothes but also history and lifestyle. For example, parents continue to purchase modern clothes, and children certainly follow them and get into a habit of always wearing Western clothes. Therefore, in only the next decade, no one will remember family or national values, especially clothing. In addition, it is a decadent tendency because people try to follow this fashion which encourages overusing and production. As a result, it extremely affects the environment and the non-renewable material.

In conclusion, western fashion trends are ubiquitous today due to the effects of globalization and this represents a negative shift in values. Individuals should therefore strive to ignore these trends and purchase clothes that express their culture better when possible.