14.1.2017: In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts while boys like sciences. What are the reasons for this tendency and do you think this tendency should be changed?

Subject choice is a vital factor in school and university life. These days, numerous female students are enrolling in art classes, while males tend to opt for science subjects. Many reasons can answer this trend, and I believe that it is best not to apply any changes to this tendency.

Several reasons explain why students choose different courses at school and tertiary levels. First, the most significant is the natural characteristic of genders, male students are interested in calculating, and analytical abilities to outperform, for example, maths and science. And girls are more emotional and sensitive to have advantages in understanding some subjects relate to the imagination, such as arts, and literature. Furthermore, each of the two sexes shows their distinct excellence and strengths in their favored kind of subjects. As a result, they tend to participate in the classes that suit their capacity.

I believe that this tendency should not be altered for some reasons. Initially, the subject choice is their right, so parents should not force children to study subjects they do not enjoy. For example, they compel their schoolgirl students to learn sciences instead of literature which leads to bad results and poses enormous pressure. In addition, the option of the course does not rely on gender. These days, girls still pursue natural grades, and boys can participate in art courses. Therefore, letting them be free and making them feel that they are respected and listened to.

In conclusion, the choice of subjects is not related to gender but their innate abilities and preferences. This trend does not harm and should not be changed.