23.1.2016: Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspaper will remain the most important source of news. Do you agree or disagree?

With advanced technology, reading digital newspapers have become an accelerating trend, but many people believe that traditional news is still considered the major source of paper. I completely disagree with this statement for some reasons.

On the one hand, several reasons explained the decline in popularity of traditional newspapers. Firstly, the most significant of which is the amount of paper consumed in their production, which leads to deforestation and fossil fuel. This is because each year, many trees are cut down to produce papers that are used so much in the printing industry. Also, delivering newspapers consumed coal or oil which are not renewable. Furthermore, the time-consuming process of printing, editing, distributing, and the expensive costs turn out to be a weakness that causes newspapers to fail to access readers. For example, US citizens spend about $30 each month only buying daily newspapers.

On the other hand, there are a variety of reasons why I also believe the Internet brings us more opportunities to read online news. The first reason is that viewers can be easy to read the new information published up to the minutes by the newspaper websites. For example, those who follow news such as political events, stock market movements, or those who are simply keen on sport have all come to expect instant communication. Moreover, you only pay a small amount to own some electronic devices that only require a click of a mouse to read what you like. Therefore, we can save more money on costly living or childcare.

To sum up, despite the fact that printed newspapers still hold an important role, I firmly support the tendency that they will be eclipsed by online news