24.04.2014: An increasing number of advertisement on TV aim at children. What are the effects of television advertisement? SHould televison advertisements be controlled?

With the development of advanced technology, companies easily advertise their products which mainly target children on television. This tendency can bring various extreme influences on health and the economy, and I believe that the authorities should take actions to deal with this problem.

There are various reasons why advertisements bring negative effects on children. The first reason relates to unreliable information and unethical business, the advertisement only concentrates on the themes of fun and fantasy or taste, rather than health and nutrition, which are used to promote it to children. The advertised diet contrasts sharply with that recommended by public health advisors. As a result, children may suffer from obesity if they overcome food and drink which contain high levels of fat and sugar. The more food adverts they saw, the more snacks and calories they consumed. Moreover, advertisements influence children's preferences and purchase behavior. Because they are not learned that things cost money or money needs to be earned. It accidentally puts too much pressure on parents to meet all the needs of their kids.

Both governments and parents should tightly control advertisements to solve the issues. Firstly, the authority should ban strict regulations to restrict the ads for cigarettes and alcoholic drinks in children 's programs. In addition, parents encourage kids to play outdoor activities such as football or make new friends instead of having a sedentary lifestyle to reduce watching time.

To sum up, because television advertisements have a wide range of harm to children, they should be closely controlled by the government.