3. In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is true that the population ageing in some industrious counties has been getting worse in recent year. There are several potential problems coming with the trend, but steps can definitely be taken to tackle with them.

In my opinion, individuals are the one who will be influenced most. Due to the longer life, people will have more diseases when they get older and this may stop the elderly from working. Without healthy physic conditions and enough income, it is hard for old people to live independently. At the same time, society witnesses a huge burden of supporting seniors. For example, people who are over 65 years old can enjoy concessions such as significant public resources, medical treatment and free transportation.

All the problems can certainly be solved. Firstly, I believe that people should have the habit to save money for future use. Beside of the superannuation required by the law, everyone should have extra savings as money in the bank or as properties like houses. Secondly, the government can invest more funding in age care so that old people can lead a better life. Also, people should pay more attention to a healthy lifestyle rather than a sedentary life without enough exercise.

In conclusion, all countries in the world will continue or is going to face the problems of ageing society unless the government and every member of the society work together.