In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is true that in the developed countries, average longevity is increasing. There are a number of problems resulting from this phenomenon and several solutions should be adopted by the government to improve the situation.

There are two main problems engendered by this phenomenon. One problem is that a rapidly aging population associates with a fewer number of working age people in the economy. This leads to a supply shortage of qualified workers, making it more difficult for businesses to fill in demand roles. Therefore, an economy is likely to face adverse consequences, including declining productivity, higher labor costs and reduced international competitiveness. This can be widely recognised in some developed countries such as Japan and Singapore. Another problem is public healthcare system. Older people are normally one of the most vulnerable age groups because at that age, they easily get chronic diseases such as heart attack, diabetes or high blood pressure. As a result, medical facilites have to look after more patients, which put them under greater pressure.

However, several solutions could be implemented to tackle this issue. Firstly, the governments should increase the retirement age from 60 to 70 based on the fact that humans are much healthier now and encourage the immigrations of young working adults from developing countries to keep their labour forces well supplied. The second solution is individuals' tax and the cost of social and medical insurance should be raised right from when they are still working. By doing this, when they reach the retirement age, they will have a certain amoount of money to take care of themselves without the need to depend on the government as well as their children.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various problems resulting from life span, and steps need to be taken by the government to tackle this problem.