3. People are surrounded by many kinds of advertising which can influence their life. Does the positive effect of this trend outweigh negative effects?(媒体)

In this day and age, we are increasingly surrounded by advertising by companies, and it has become an indispensable part of our lives. I think that the demerits exceed the positive impact.

Advertising brings a benefit to people's lives because it bridges the gap between the consumers and manufacturers. It is a modern way of raising awareness about a particular product. It is hard for customers to buy merchandise without knowing anything, so advertisements can increase potential customers’ knowledge of the goods. As a result, they can find the best deals and specific products effectively and easily. For instance, as my mother gains useful information about clothes, appliances, and technical gadgets by watching tv commercials, shopping is simpler and more time-efficient.

Nevertheless, I firmly believe that the adverse impacts of advertising override its advantage. Firstly, advertisements directed at children make them believe that consumerism is a natural, healthy aspect of life. Take my experience, for example, my younger cousins firmly believe that possessing goods such as automobiles, high-end brands of bags, and portable devices are the main criterion for happiness after they watched advertisements on the Internet. Monopoly in industry is another disadvantage because this phenomenon reduces healthy competition, and it becomes difficult for new firms to enter the field. Lastly, it triggers impulse buying since it tempts consumers to spend a large amount of money purchasing unnecessary things unconsciously.

In conclusion, advertising has become a source of information about goods, but I still think that the disadvantages it brings predominate its merits.