Many people today prefer socializing online to spending time with friends in local community.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, more people buy things like vehicles, clothing, and other products made by well-known brands. I think vanity, social media, and need for better products are the reasons for this trend, and I think it is a negative change in society.

There are several reasons that explain why people are obsessed with branded goods. First, they love flaunting their possessions because they believe it elevates their value as a person. Business magnates, entertainers, and the wives of politicians, for instance, use their Gucci bags, Lamborghinis, and Samsung phones to tell people they are wealthy and are above their class. Another factor is social media because in order for influencers to earn money, they need to show support to these big-named brands and lure their followers to make purchases. Finally, high-end products are made from the highest quality materials and have advanced designs, so it is easy to understand why people want them.

The tendency to purchase products based on its name is a detrimental trend because people overspend on things that do not matter. Most of these items are overpriced because consumers are not only paying for the product, but they are also paying for the name behind it. In Korea, many young adults took out loans to afford such luxuries and are now buried in debt. It may get to a point where people become stricken by poverty due to their carelessness in spending. This can even lead the country to suffer a kind of economic recession on account of the national debt going up in the long term.

In conclusion, people’s egotism, social media influencers, and the quality of these products are the reasons why it is trendy now to buy branded items, but it is inimical to society and the national economy.