6 It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history To what extent do you agree or disagree

The question as to whether the primary schools should teach children more about local history than the world one has been a topic of debate of late. Personally, I strongly agree with this notion because this approach helps kids respect their own traditions and raises their awareness of contribution for nation as well.

There has been two compelling justifications explaining why young students should learn about national history. First of all, learners who receive an education of past customs, traditions and roots in the younger years may foster their appreciations for the national values intentionally. Consequently, they would recognize adverse implications of alien cultures, it means that this can probably prompt young hopefuls to avoid homogenization in the long run. Second, those students can have a mutual understanding which is associated to heroes, sacrifices and damages in the past conflicts; as a result, this may be a key for them to have a greater sense of patriotism to some extent. In other words, the government would have a precursor to declining brain-drain which is the worst-case scenario for a nation’s development; taking Bangladesh for example, exceptional dwellers tend to immigrate to other countries for the lucrative occupations. In brief, national history should be prioritized in elementary levels because of instilling respectability plus discipline into kids.

Admittedly, one school of thoughts claim that youngsters should learn historic insights in parallel with world history providing them a fundamental knowledge of other traditions. Hence, they may have crucial foundation for other subjects at United States which can encourage them process fully in foreign trades or international business. Nevertheless, it is considered that those such knowledge can be learned in secondary levels.

To sum up, the benefit of acquiring world insights is admirable; however, I harbor that educational systems should focus on history in the locality to preserve national heritages and safeguard the country’s long-term economy.