The advancement of Internet technology means people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how people in other places live. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is apparent that global connection and humans’ access to oversea cultures has been improved unprecedentedly thanks to the facilitation of advanced Internet technology. There appears to be no need for people to go abroad in person in order to have a comprehension of indigenous lives. As for me, making a trip to an exotic territory is much preferable in many ways.

First and formost, a particularly notable case of this matter is that the information provided on free websites are seemingly the tip of the iceberg, which precludes people’s understanding of local lifestyles. As most of the written articles are somehow identical, these pieces of information containing approximately less than 1000 words are impossible to reveal what deeply lies behind the practice and customs of foreigners, which is implicit in their daily activities. For example, it is obvious that little or no online source will tell visitors that all Vietnamese people have “green oil” (nearly a type of holy water) as an indispensable household item to solve every simple heathcare problems, from headaches to bumps and bruises.

The second reason for my propensity is the unreliability of data and misinformation on virtual sites provided for free. It is often the case that online bloggers or writers do not take full responsibility for what they post on mass media, since their work normally includes information that has been gathered in another article before without investigating the accuracy. Therefore, if readers do not initally have an adequate understanding of how others organize their life, they will be entirely manipulated, which not only causes misunderstanding but also conflicts sometimes.

For the reasons presented above, I strongly commit to the notion that efforts to adopt novel traditions should be made by trips or jouneys to where these practices belong in lieu of relying entirely on the Internet.