Advantages and disadvantages of international communication online

In this day and age, a myriad of advancements in technology have allowed us to interact with other people both domestically and internationally via the internet. Indeed, this trend would create certain benefits, but there will also be some drawbacks.

To begin with, it is indisputable that the internet as well as social media can aid us in not only making friends, but also establishing an excellent rapport with a great number of other users across the globe. By virtue of online communication, we are now able to expand our social network with people whom we have not met in person. In addition, interacting in cyberspace is said to facilitate education for many learners. To be more precise, there is no necessity for pupils to attend physical classes on the grounds that their studies can be undertaken virtually. A prime example of this is the online learning programme of Yale university in America. More specifically, this university has been providing a plethora of online courses for students all around the world. Hence, a lot of undergraduates have taken advantage of this method to pursue tertiary education regardless of geographical boundaries.

In spite of the great merits of this modern way of communicating, there are, however, some demerits associated with it which we should take into consideration. The first disadvantage is that our personal information may be at stake. To be more specific, once individuals update their names, their dates of birth, their addresses, and so on on social networking sites, the chances of those information being stolen by unidentified cyberterrorists for illicit purposes are fairly high. For instance, nearly 30 percent of Facebook users reported that they have been harassed through phone calls due to the phone numbers that they have updated on their profiles online. Moreover, constantly looking at the screens to talk with our virtual friends can have a detrimental impact on our eyes’ health in the long run.

In conclusion, international communication online could bring certain benefits, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked. Therefore, we need to be highly cautious when utilizing this means of communication.