The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Speaking English as a global language has been a controversial topic of debate in recent years. Many countries in the world speak English as the first language. I strongly agree that the spread of English as a global language outweighs its drawbacks.

On the one hand, people all over the world using the same language in communication will elevate work effectively. In communication, information is conveyed to receivers and results returned. Furthermore, in order to get higher education, for example, to study abroad, overseas students have to get adequate knowledge of English, so that they can catch up with subjects that they want to study. Besides, to meet the demands of labour, developed countries introduce immigrating policies for employees coming from other countries. Therefore, speaking English widely is essential. In opening economy, workers who can speak English fluently will have more opportunities to find jobs and to get higher positions in companies.

On the other hand, using English in international communication also has some disadvantages. Firstly, language cultures are reflected because young generations are tendy to forget their mother tongue. In addition, it takes people many years to learn four skills: listening, speaking, reading and writing.

In conclusion, I believe English should be promoted as a global language. Even though language barriers exist in the world, English as a foreign language brings more benefits.