The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the expansion of English as an official language in the world will reap more benefits than negatives. Personally, I completely agree with that view.

Firstly, English is a necessary skill which many employers and businesses require. In other words, the ability to mature English can help to seek a potential job . As the economy of Vietnam is focusing on collaboration with other countries, they always need a workforce that is mature about language apart from professional skills . In addition to that, English also plays an important role in education. Many high quality universities choose English as an admission subject in the entrance examination. For example, if the IELTS score reaches above 6.5 you can be directly selected for university.

Moreover, English is the main language used to communicate in all majors. Specifically, it is the dominant language of technology, science and medicine. Hence, English speakers can easily obtain and update the information in their daily life as the most important textbooks,research papers and journals are published in English. For example, Chemistry is using English to call chemicals in the new curriculum instead of Vietnamese phonetics. Therefore, students can access standard international resources so the education in each nation can be enhanced.

In conclusion, I fully believe that the advantages of expanding of English are more significant than the disadvantages as benefits of communication, education, economy and job prospects can bring to individuals and nations.