Advertisement brings many negative effects on people and the society. What are these effects? How to solve this problem?

It is true that commercials lead to a variety of adverse consequences for both human beings and the community. There are several possible outcomes for this, but steps can definitely be taken to address such issue.

On the one hand, advertising tends to exert at least two noticeable effects. It starts with negatively promoting material life. As consumer advertising proposes to manipulate people that purchasing the products that are trendy and exorbitant will make them more fulfilled and in a higher status compared to others. Thus, individuals are inclined to end up squandering a huge amount of money on superfluous merchandises. Furthermore, abundant advertisements with inappropriate content may inflict harm to the development of children. For instance, if the children are uncontrollably exposed to cigarette commercials, they tend to get an urge to try the taste of it. As a result, the proportion of smoking among adolescents and young adults can go up.

Some measures should be implemented to tackle this issue. Firstly, the content of advertisements on television or social media should be properly regulated, especially extravagant products. For example, smartphone companies are only allowed to provide consumers with the commodities’ technical information without misrepresenting discriminating comparisons between people who own their products and who do not. Secondly, advertising aimed at children should be controlled or banned, especially merchandises that are detrimental to their health, namely processed food or cigarette. The government can specifically require that warning signs must be displayed on the packets.

In conclusion, there are various negative consequences of advertising causes to individuals and society; and appropriate solutions should be proposed to address this problem.