Advertisements play a major role on TV in market economies. Despite the benefits of such information, many people criticize the role of TV advertising.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people advocate that television advertising has been a key factor in providing information and promoting products while the others might argue that it has a number of objectionable features to viewers. I am inclined to think that advertisements/commercials should be considered as an effective way of communicating to the messages.

Firstly, one of the reasons to support television advertising is its function of giving/providing information, which is pivotal to boost a modern economy. To put it simply, on the ground that televisions are necessary in most households these days, advertisements have more opportunities to reach numerous people than those in the past. Consequently, messages are transferred easily from people who have products and services to those wanting to purchase. For example, if some families gather around a television, watching sitcoms or TV shows, they will see/come across with commercial breaks in prime time, which helps companies launch products and raise brand awareness. Hence, advertisements have been an efficient pattern of communication by far.

Secondly, the development of advertising industry has brought about a significant source of employment. In other words, in recent years, as plenty of companies having niche products are willing to spend a huge advertising budget to reach their target consumers, various advertising agencies are established with a view to meeting their demands. Obviously, a number of jobs are created, which supports to decrease job cuts in many countries. By doing this, more people will have jobs, receive monthly salary and enjoy a better quality of life.

In conclusion, the reasons cited above have justified my stand that advertisements have brought to us not only a new workforce but also an improved living standard.