Advertising is becoming more and more common in everyday life. Some people say that advertising has a positive impact on our lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that advertisements have become a prevalent tool for people on a daily basis. While I agree that advertising has brought many advantages in our lives, I believe that this also has some negative impacts.

There are many reasons why it can be argued that advertisements have a number of positive impacts on not only consumers but also businesses . To commence with, advertising provides details about newly launched products through media and online sources. It is essential for people to be aware of product information, which stimulates them to purchase goods that are being advertised. Moreover, it also would dispense thousands of employment opportunities for students who have graduated or those who are unemployed, for example creativity, manager, and sales. In addition, the wide popularity of TV commercials helps many businesses to approach prospective customers easily; thus, it facilitates increased sales and enhances those companies’ competitiveness in the market .

However, I am of the opinion that advertisements would have several adverse impacts on individuals and society as a whole. Firstly, it can be a harmful influence to the development of children, for instance fast food advertisements can influence the eating habits of the child and promote an unhealthy lifestyle, which results in being overweight . Secondly, advertising increases the cost of goods and services. Because it includes the money which brands have to spend on publicity materials. Furthermore, advertising encourages people to purchase what they do not really need, so most of those products are little used.

To sum up, advertisement plays an important role in modern society; and this has, in my view, benefits and drawbacks as well.