Advertising encourages people to buy in quantity rather to consider quality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the fierce competition, these days, most companies may not be able to promote their products and increase their sales without marketing campaigns. Therefore, it has been argued that advertising lure people to purchase impulsively rather than focusing on the quality of the product. From my perspective, I am in favour of this statement.

Firstly, there is a widely-accepted fact that advertising is recognized as the most effective way to boost the sales of the company. This is particularly true in this commercial world, where those fancy and well-designed advertisings are more likely to attract customers’ attention so as to encourage them to purchase products. For example, the Apple Company has successfully dominated the smart-phone industry because of their advertising that showing on TV or other media.

Secondly, it is more important to remember that many purchases are not made rationally. Our choices of products are mainly based on emotions and personal preference, and advertisers are expert at manipulating these. Our concerns over our appearance and social status are used by advertisers to sell products regardless of the actual quality or our need.

Lastly, advertising does provide information regarding the product quality. Tough regulation that imposed on the advertisement industry means exaggerated and misleading information of the product will not exist. This is particularly true in the food industry, where all food products are required to list the nutrition and expiry date to ensure the health of consumers. In some cases, potential customers can compare different products before they purchase, or provide feedback to the advertiser to improve the quality.

In conclusion, the role of advertising is to sell the product effectively for the companies rather than focusing on the quality of products. As consumers, people should check the quality by themselves.