Advertising encourages people to buy in quantity rather to consider quality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Modern companies are increasingly promoting products through advertising. Does advertising highlight products' quality or is it designed purely to increase sales? While some people claim that it helps developing product quality, I completely believe it more encourages sales volume inherently. This essay will discuss them in detail.

On the one hand, the original purpose of advertising is going to chase the expansion of business profit. Firstly, advertising producers are very good at generating consumption by influencing the customers' senses and tastes. Apple is selling the emotion of contented happiness that comes from a simplified lifestyle; a result of owning an Apple product. That ends up the billion of dollar revenue each year. Secondly, genius merchants manipulate the greedy nature of users to create a one-for-one advertising strategy, resulting in more than double the income. It may assist companies currently to reach twofold achievements with business profit and storage clearance.

On the other hand, there may have some conflicts between the improvement of product quality and the purpose of advertising itself. Firstly, the product's popularity is composed of a variety of factors, including price, design, quality, after-sales, promotion and so on. According to a marketing survey from BBC, over 75% of customers believe prices are the principal concern rather than qualities. Secondly, companies currently tend to allocate more funds to the advertisement rather than the product. Therefore, many manufacturing divisions of these companies have to lower their standards to overcome the financial shortage.

Nowadays, the advertisement is an efficient method to increase sales for many companies. This essay argued some people who support advertising could promote the quality have a flawed understanding and overestimate the effects of what they believe. Personally, I completely agree the advertisement inherently will expand sales volume.