In advertising nowadays, businesses usually highlight and emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why do businesses practice this? Do you think this development is a positive practice or a negative one?

It is true that nowadays companies try to present their products in the most unique way. That means that things are advertised to show the new features. In my own opinion, the disadvantages of this development considerably far outweigh its benefits and I think that it is mostly a negative aspect. In this essay, I am going to examine this question.

Business managers believe that if they highlight a number of original functions, the product will look unique against the others. Sales will grow up very quickly and it would provide an opportunity to earn more money. A particularly good illustration here is Apple. All brand iPhones are in fact similar to other smartphones by Samsung or Oppo. However, a clever presentation in the way of emphasise of the new key features helps to make the iPhone the most popular phone in the world.

As a customer, I would argue that this type of advertising does not help us to choose the right products for ourselves. This is because we begin to focus on the new aspects that were highlighted by managers. That is why we forget about the functions we particularly need in these things. For instance, statistically, most of the people buy a phone due to its camera. But in fact, this function of the phone is not common for everyone except professionals, this opinion is given to us.

In conclusion, it seems to me that this approach to sales of things can bring lots of money, but it is an absolutely negative trend due to the fact that it harms ordinary individuals.