Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

Age bar in different hierarchy is common these days in the workplace. Some offices and workplaces are very keen to analyze the age factor while giving promotions and other facilities to the employees. Although it is a common trend of retiring in certain age older workers should not be biased in the name of age discriminations.

Old members are not old only they are the source of information and they are filled with experience. Companies these days seems seeking profit only but lacking the morality. In the name of recruiting energetic manpower they are giving retirement to their old workers. I stand with the point that firms should take their knowledge and experience in a systematic way and those tips should be handover to the juniors. On the other side, the newly recruited members lack exposure; in order to balance the both old members should be utilized.

Secondly, Youngers are not being given adequate opportunities because of the availability of the older, experienced members. Recent workers are filled with sufficient knowledge and skills the only thing they seek is the better place to flourish. In some organizations, they are treated as immature but they are the future pillar.so they are the means of change.It is certain that fix aged people are retired ones and it is a legal process as well, so i believe it shouldnot be illegal in any way.

To conclude, fixed age bar is needed but with the dignified retirement should be there. The aforementioned credentials should be implemented to balance both.