The age at which children are allowed to work for money varies from country to country. While some people believe it is wrong, other regard it as a valuable opportunity to gain experience of the work environment.

Discuss the arguments for and against children participating in paid work.

The average age of children who start working for living is usually different in various countries. In developed nations youngsters and teenagers begin earning as a part-time jobs besides their studies. they consider it as a learning experience to be independent. In developing nations age group of 10-20 yrs join as an earning member of family due to some obvious reason but not by choice. these children leave their studies to start working.

paid working is helpful to younger age group only if it is considered as an experience and not compulsion. In Western countries it is a common trend to do small jobs at restaurants, theatres, petrol pumps for children in their vacations and holidays. In fact Schools and colleges keep campaigns to promote independent living among youngsters. In poor and underdeveloped nations this scenario is completely opposite. children are being forced to start earning with sacrifice of their education and healthy living. they engage in household working jobs, sometimes even professional beggars, shoe polishing, delivery services etcetera. Few child trafficking rackets had also been caught which has been done in purpose of to engage small kids in these jobs to make them earn for their boss. it is a punishable crime.

The idea of making children attend paid jobs in their free time is really fruitful in view of their learning instead of just a physical and mental exhaustion and compulsion, but sole purpose of making income from children's hard work is punishable in most of developed and developing countries.