The age at which children are allowed to work for money varies from country to country. While some people believe it is wrong, other regard it as a valuable opportunity to gain experience of the work environment.Discuss the arguments for and against child

Child labor is one of the highlighted international issues. Some countries are strictly prohibited children paid for work by legislation while others still open for this topic. Someone agrees start working in an earlier age would be a chance for a person to gain experience before becomes an adult while other argues that it is against human right. In this essay, I will elaborate points of view for both sides.

We learn knowledge from books but gain skills and techniques from practices. Working environment is a perfect place for children to convert what they learned into their abilities, for example how to get along with people in different age groups, problem solving, critical thinking and handling stress. Money, acting as a reward, could be a good catalyst for them to try their best to do so, experiencing the real world and grow up to be a mature adult.

On the other hand, childhood is the precious stage for a human beings and joyfully go through it is always promoted by international organisations on protecting children, such as UNICEF. Despite the advantage on early working experience obtained, UNICEF argues that right to play is the basic human right for kids and nothing can override it. A joyful childhood bears the role on the development of a healthy person in the three aspects: physical, psychological and social and giving enough time, safe place and freedom to play is the simple and effective way to achieve this goal. Role play, as one type of play, actually fulfill the need for children to practice their interpersonal skill, handling adversity and experience working.

In my point of view, we already have to work for 40 years or even more, it is more valuable to have a happy and memorable childhood than suffering from work for 10 more years.