All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school. ‘How far do you agree with this proposal?’

It is an inescapable fact that children can benefit considerably from learning how to use a foreign language at an early age. However, it seems unwise to force all of them to start learning a language when they first attend school, and I will explain why in this essay.

On the one hand, it would appear that there are two main advantages that children would gain from learning a foreign language. Firstly, it can be denied that young learners tend to learn to use a language faster compared to adult ones. In fact, this may enable them to master this language more easily, potentially resulting in them speaking such language naturally. Secondly, it is undeniable that kids appear to have more free time which could be used to learn foreign languages. Examples can be seen in many Vietnamese kids, who are able to either join in English clubs at school or watch movies in English in their spare time.

On the other hand, there are two primary reasons why not all kids are encouraged to attend language courses. The most widely-observed fact would be that taking a foreign language course might be unaffordable for numerous children who are living in poverty. Those who support this idea point to the evidence that in many rural regions in Vietnam, a majority of young pupils have to do household chores or even work as a farmer to support their families financially. Another well-known factor would be that foreign languages do not interest all young learners, as such students may be passionate about other subjects such as sports. Therefore, it is surely unwise to force these kids to participate in language classes which they have motivation to go to.

In conclusion, whereas it is almost universally accepted that it is incredibly beneficial for children to learn a foreign language as soon as possible, this idea seems to be somewhat inadequate for kids whose families cannot afford language course or children who are keen on other things.