Although modern life has brought with it improvements in people’s standard of living, people are not generally happy with their lives. Do you agree or disagree?

There are many divergent views that people are not well-being with their life in recent time despite the improvements in people’s standard of living. In this essay, I will provide the reasons why I partly agree with this statement.

On the one hand, the primary reason for the unhappiness of modern citizens is that the exorbitant living costs. Nowadays, they have to work harder to pay bills such as electronic bills, petrol bills, accommodation, etc. Therefore, most members in family are stood in need of working to deal with these expenses. While I do not have to look for a job, my high school friend and his family are working down to dusk to earn money in order to cover all living expenses. He have to sacrifice his personal interests and quality time with family. Besides, housing prices are also a concern for many people, especially the medium people. They could not have their own apartment; if they have, they will take home loans. Thus, they are required to work harder to keep up with modern life which makes them feel unhappy.

However, the improvement of life also comes with the advancement of the medical industry. With surgery, the invention of robotics which save millions of lives is a shining example of this. Most of our fears are death, therefore, the less people passed away, the happier we are. Another reason is that modern machines will assist us in industrial. For example, people who are blue-collar worker to cultivate plants or raise domestic animals are suppoted by using machines. Furthermore, these machines are even more productive than humans and manufacture various products as a result.

In conclusion, although there are some disavantages that make people feel unhappy by modern life, it is believed that the improvement of life also makes citizens satisfied.