Although some people suggest a results-orientation method to encourage students, others would propose improvements as a vital criterion to reward students. In my personal view, the latter is more useful.

On the one hand, it is thought that academic results should be considered as a means of encouragement by educators. Believing that rewards can foment competitions among students, schools should encourage those students having the best academic results in these competitions. For example, giving money to the most cited student in Google Scholar in a year is a fairly method of encouragement students competing for this position. Besides, academic results are specific and the explicit factors for evaluating the students. Therefore, not only do they allow schools to make a perfect decision in terms of encouragement, they but also give credibility to the process of rewarding.

On the other hand, I side with those who believe that students should be rewarded based on their improvements. Courtesy of this method all students, apart from their God-given talents, have been motivated to study hard so that they can reach a sustainable improvement. As a result, all different students have an equal chance to be rewarded with regard to their improvements. In addition, by encouraging students based on their improvements, schools give students this opportunity to express a better version of themselves. Thus, whether they are awarded or not, all students break their previous records that could be one the most invaluable incentives in the student’s life helping them not to give up in the process of learning.

To conclude, although encouraging students based on their academic results could be effective, I am convinced that those students that show improvements are more eligible to be rewarded.